Skip to content

Jed Beaton Contains Damage At MX2 GP of Kegums

Jed Beaton Contains Damage At MX2 GP of Kegums

Jed Beaton of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing managed to contain the damage under trying conditions during the fifth round of the MX2 world championships at Kegums in Latvia. Beaton had to come from far back in the first race to finish 11th. He finished sixth in the second race after a better start. 

The day started of with a setback for the team. Thomas Kjer Olsen decided after the training session to withdraw from the event, because his inured shoulder still gave him too much discomfort. Jed made the most of his qualifying session, though, and secured the second gate. 

Jed had not had the best of times at the previous two rounds, and hoped to close out the Latvian triple header on a positive note. His first heat provided scant consolation, though, because he fell early in the race, and had to fight his way forward from there. He eventually finished third. 

A motivated Jed got off the line much better in race two and was part of the leading group. He held fourth place for a long while, but lost one spot as the race came to a close. Just as it appeared that he had this in hand, another position was lost and he eventually finished sixth. He was not entirely happy, but did manage to add a good haul of points to his tally. 

Rasmus Jorgensen, team manager, had this to say: “It hasn’t been the best week for us over here in Latvia. We keep our chins up, though, and we will continue fighting.  We’re already setting our minds on the next races in Italy in a few weeks’ time. Jed never quite found his flow here, but he is fit and keen, and we look forward to improving on this. “

Jed was seventh overall, and currently holds fifth position in the world standings.

Overall Grand Prix MX2 of Kegums:
1 Jago Geerts 47 Pnt
2 Tom Vialle 47 Pnt
3 Roan van de Moosdijk 38 Pnt
4 Ben Watson 36 Pnt
5 Maxime Renaux 33 Pnt
7 Jed Beaton 25 Pnt

World Championship Standings MX2:
1 Tom Vialle 217 Pnt
2 Jago Geerts 209 Pnt
3 Roan van de Moosdijk 153 Pnt
4 Maxime Renaux 149 Pnt
5 Jed Beaton 148 Pnt