Skip to content

Good Start In The MX2 World Championship Campaign For Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing

Good Start In The MX2 World Championship Campaign For Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing made a notable start to their MX2 world championship campaign at Matterley Basin in Great Britain this weekend. Jed Beaton was in the running for a podium finish for a long time, till a small mistake near the end of the second race dropped him to fourth overall. Thomas Kjer Olsen contained the damage from a troubled first heat by riding strongly in the second, yielding him seventh overall.

A muddy and difficult track greeted the riders on qualifying day. This prompted a change in the qualifying procedure, with a single timed training session deciding the gate picks. Both riders had some troubles during this session. Thomas crashed hard during the qualifying, and could only post a fast lap on the very last outing, which got him seventh, one ahead of Jed.

Much better conditions welcomed the riders on Sunday. It was still cold, but sunny. Jed had a good start in race one, and was just outside the top five. Once he found his rhythm he made up a few positions, and finished in a very strong second position. Thomas battled to find his rhythm after a bad start, and did his best to improve to 11th.

In the second race it was Olsen who held the better cards off the start. He quickly slotted into third place, and held it for the majority of the heat. Unfortunately a few errors near the end cost him two positions, and he finished fifth. Jed had sight on an overall podium finish for a long time, but he, too, fell victim to some late race trouble, finishing sixth.

Jed was fourth overall for the day and Thomas seventh. This is also their current world championship standings. Next weekend the team will be in action at Valkenswaard in the Netherlands.

Overall Grand Prix MX2 Great Britain:
1 Jago Geerts 43 Pnt
2 Tom Vialle 40 Pnt
3 Mikkel Haarup 40 Pnt
4 Jed Beaton 37 Pnt
5 Rene Hofer 35 Pnt
7 Thomas Kjer Olsen 26 Pnt